Unhearing Ludwig with Ensemble Virama


  • Start: 30th May, 2020 @ 7:30PM
    End: 30th May, 2020 @ 9:30PM


In conjunction with Beethoven’s 250th birthday and Ensemble Virama’s 5th anniversary, we explore the composer’s diverse output through audio and visual story telling.

Duration: 90-minutes including a 10-minute intermission.

Admission: RM50

Date and time:

Concert 1 – 7:30pm, Sat, May 30, 2020

Concert 2 – 7:30pm, Sun, May 31, 2020

Venue: Deciso, 3, Jalan Margosa SD 10/4a, Bandar Sri Damansara, 52200 Kuala Lumpur, Selangor.



Sonic and visual narratives


Variations on ‘Là ci darem la mano’, WoO 28

“Gassenhaur” trio, Op.11 for piano clarinet and cello – II. Adagio

“Rage Over a Lost Penny, Vented in a Caprice”, Op. 129

“Spring” Sonata, Op. 24 for violin and piano – I. Allegro

“Bußlied” from 6 Lieder, Op. 48 , arr. Davis

“Moonlight” Sonata, Op. 27, No. 2 for solo piano – I. Adagio Sostenuto

“Tempest” Sonata, Op. 31, No. 2 for solo piano – I. Largo – Allegro

– Intermission (10 min) –

Symphony No. 7, Op. 92, trans. Hummel – II. Allegretto

Sonata No. 5, Op. 102 for cello and piano – III. Allegro Fugato

String Quartet, Op. 130 – V. Cavatina & IV. Alla danza tedesca. Allegro assai


Planeswalker/Mervin Wong, creative advisor & multimedia artist

Howard Ng, oboe

Lawrence Fong, clarinet

Kenneth Teh, piano

Vincent Ng Yao De, piano

Mabel Wong, violin solo/violin 1

Andrea Sim, violin 2

Angela Lou, viola

Eugene Chong, cello

Eugenia Lou, double bass


• All event information is correct at time of print.

• Out of respect for other concertgoers, no children under 4 years of age will be allowed admission.

• Tickets sold are only refundable in exceptional situations, i.e. natural disaster or cancellation of event by organizer.